Mentor Programs

SDFWA Mentor Programs cover many aspects of woodworking and are conducted by members for members. The programs are free or have a nominal fee to cover materials, refreshments and sometimes lunch. We have many experienced members who are skilled woodworkers and willing to impart their knowledge to new and old members alike. Mentor classes are aimed at teaching basic skills such as hand tool sharpening, handmade dovetails, mortise and tenon joinery, finishing techniques, veneering and marquetry. Other classes include training on how to evaluate, operate and maintain woodworking machinery such as the router, table saw, band saw, plate jointer, scroll saw and lathe. Some of our members are available by special request for one-on-one training. The opportunity to ask for help from fellow members is one of the most valuable features of membership. With so many skilled members there is always help available for just about any task in woodworking.  

 

Upcoming Mentor Class

There will be a mentor class - Finishing Simplified - March 25th...

 

Bob Stevenson, Mentor Chairman

619-422-7338-h

619-253-7338-c             

bobscww@cox.net

 

One-on-One Mentoring

Following is a list of members who are willing to do One-on-One Mentoring for SDFWA members.

The above members have volunteered to be available to provide assistance with the topics listed after their name.

I am also available to discuss any questions about furniture making, finishing, general woodworking, and the mentoring program.

Bob Stevenson

SDFWA, Chairman, Mentoring Program

619-253-7338-c

619-422-7338-h

bobscww@cox.net

 

Last Name

First Name

Subject Matter

Email Address

Anderson

Gary

Basic Power Tool Use; Urethane Finishes; Resins

pinz711@aol.com

Blackledge

Terry

Basic Tongue and Groove Construction

blackledges4jc@gmail.com

Bostic

Bob

Hand tools; Chair Shop

rkbostick@yahoo.com

Bradbury

James

Scroll Sawing

bradburyjp@sbcglobal.net

Burke

Bernie

Shop Layout & Setup

bernieburke@roadrunner.com

Camp

Robert

Veneering; Inlay; Stringing; Finishing

rcamp5070@att.net

DeWinter

Robert

Shopsmith Basics

rid.sandiego@gmail.com

Fleming

Joe

Woodturning; Tool Sharpening; Airbrush

jtfleming@san.rr.com

Heck

Dan

Electrical Tool Repair

dheck6@cox.net

Johnson

Tom

Woodturning (small)

tejohnson22058@aol.com

Kuperus

Duane

Tool & Blade Sharpening

duane_kuperus@sbcglobal.net

Marr

David

Veneering; Bent Lamination

david@davidmarrdesigns.com

Parker

Doug

Hand Tool; Basic Finishing

gothamst@cox.net

Pendzick

Jerry

Sharpening; Hand Tool; Windsor Chair

jvhirzu@san.rr.com

Porter

Vard

Carving Tool Sharpening; Jigs & Fixtures; Chip Carving

2vard@cox.net

Prater

Ron

Basic Woodworking; Beginner Projects

ron@op-design.com

Reese

Bob

Basic chemistry of finishing; book matching; Band saw;

rtreese@gmail.com

Rice

Bill

General advice setting up woodworking machines for beginners

wlrice@sbcglobal. Net

Rogers

Steve

General advice setting up wood shop

goldentangerines@gmail.com

Rossi

Ron

Sharpening with Work Sharp

ronrossi@cox.net

Ruch

Martin

Anything relative to solid wood; Hand Tool Use

lmruch@cox.net

Slaughter

Don

Hand saw sharpening; Hand Tool Maintenance & Use

don2laughs@cox.net

Smith

Martin

Hand Planes Use; Work benches

martin.smith.jr@gmail.com

Stotler

Josh

Inlay; Bending; Guitar Construction

j_stotler@ymail.com

Thomas

Nathanael

Production Framing & Finish; Carpentry; Design Jigs

nate.a.thomas@gmail.com

Ugoretz

Richard

Simple method of Bent Lamination; Gluing up

ugoretz.r@gmail.com

Wright

Robby

Setting up Power Tools (Power Tools 101)

robbyw11@cox.net

 

 

Sharpening class - October 2015

 Click on picture to see larger images!

 

Pictures from previous mentor classes

clientuploads/The Mentor Program Group.png

https://asoft10232.accrisoft.com/sdfwa/clientuploads/The Mentor Program - Woodworking .png

clientuploads/The Mentor Program- Group discussion.pngclientuploads/The Mentor Program - three men working together.pngclientuploads/The Mentor Program - teaching.png

clientuploads/The Mentor Program- working together.pngclientuploads/The Mentor Program - outside.png